2020.12.07 Board Minutes

2020.12.07 Board Minutes

                                                            SPECIAL SESSION

                                           OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE



The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on December 7, 2020 for a Special  Meeting at the Administration Building, Tama, Iowa at 5:00 p.m. with some members of the board and community attending electronically through Google Hangouts.

On call of the roll the following were present: Alan Kline, Mandy Lekin, Penny Tyynismaa.  Absent: Ron Houghton, Clint Werner.  Quorum Present.  Houghton joined the meeting at 5:05 p.m.

Also present were: Jared Smith, Mary Boege and several members of the community.

Motion by Kline second by Lekin to approve the agenda.  All Ayes.

Public Comments - None

Each Building Administrator updated the Board on how things are going in their buildings and discussion was held on when a decision for 2nd semester would be made as to what instruction would look like.

Motion by Lekin, second by Kline to approve the Archery fundraising request for a can redemption drive.   All Ayes.

Shauna Smith updated the Board on the Trauma Informed Care Unit and how we are serving our students. 

Shauna Smith and Superintendent Smith discussed the Mental Health Therapists program that we currently have with Tanager Place and how it is serving our students.

The results of the 1st Semester Culture and Climate survey was shared with the Board. 

Motion by Houghton, second by Kline to adjourn the meeting at 6:35 p.m.

Penny Tyynismaa, Board President                               Mary Boege, Board Secretary    

mboege@s-tama… Tue, 12/08/2020 - 07:25