SPECIAL SESSION OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE SOUTH TAMA COUNTY COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on May 22, 2023 for a Special Session at the Administration Center, Tama, Iowa at 7:30 a.m.

On call of the roll the following were present: Mandy Lekin, Penny Tyynismaa, Clint Werner, and Beth Wiese. Elizabeth Dolezal joined the meeting at 7:31 a.m. Quorum Present. Also present were: Superintendent John Cain, Board Secretary Katie Mathern, and members from the community on Google Hangouts.

Motion by Tyynismaa, second by Wiese to approve the agenda. All Ayes. The motion carried.

Public Comments - None

Motion by Tyynismaa, second by Wiese to set the new Public Hearing date for the Amendment to the 2022-2023 Certified Budget to Monday, June 12, 2023, at 7:30 a.m., at the Administration Center. All Ayes. The motion carried.

Motion by Tyynismaa, second by Werner to approve the new Director Redistricting Maps. All Ayes. The motion carried.

Motion by Dolezal, second by Tyynismaa to approve the classified staff and administrative/director contracts as presented for the 2023-2024 school year. Classified staff will receive 3.5% added to the base of their salary schedules and 3.5% added to their pay if not on a salary schedule. The partnership secretary position will move one lane. The superintendent secretary position will go from hourly to salaried. Administrators and directors will receive a 3.5% increase. Building administrators, Director of Student Services, and Director of Food Service will move from an 11-month contract to a 12-month contract (223 work days, 25 vacation days, and 12 holidays = 260 days. Five days of vacation may be carried over each year.) The superintendent contract will be renewed with a 2-year contract, a 3.5% increase, and 15 vacation days. All Ayes. The motion carried.

Motion by Dolezal, second by Wiese to approve the Dave Schmitt Construction bid proposal, in the amount of \$25,347.00, for clearing and grubbing of trees at the new middle school location. Ayes: Lekin, Dolezal, Tyynismaa, and Wiese Nays: Werner The motion carried.

Motion by Tyynismaa, second by Wiese to adjourn the meeting at 7:46 a.m. All Ayes.	
Mandy Lekin, Board President	Katie Mathern, Board Secretary