2020.12.21 Board Minutes

                                                                 REGULAR SESSION

                                                   OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE

                                   COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT OF SOUTH TAMA COUNTY

The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on December 21, 2020 in Regular Session at 5:00 p.m. with members of the board and community attending electronically through Google Hangouts.

On call of the roll the following were present:  Ron Houghton, Alan Kline, Penny Tyynismaa and Clint Werner.  Absent: Mandy Lekin.  Quorum Present.  Lekin joined the meeting at 6:19 p.m.

Also present were: Jared Smith, Mary Boege and several members of the community.

Motion by Houghton second by Kline to approve the agenda.  All Ayes.

Motion by Kline, second by Houghton to approve the consent agenda approving the minutes of the November 16, 2020, and December 7, 2020 meetings, financials, bills for payment as presented and Early Graduation requests of A.B..

Public Comments - None

Morgan Haughey, Student Council President, updated the Board on what the Student Council has been involved in.

Mike Carnahan, Chris McFate and Teresa Smith were present to review the new curriculum program, Music First.

Each Building Administrator reviewed with the Board on how they will handle classroom space and lunches if students return to 100 percent instruction second semester.

Motion by Lekin, second by Kline to approve the personnel requests as presented pending background checks and licensure for new hires.  All Ayes.

Contracts - Estrella Castellanos Angel - 7-12 TICU Para, Matthew Beatty - Asst 7th Boys Basketball.

Volunteer Coaches - Lindsay Hassman - Speech, Rachel Davis - Speech

Officials - David Nitz - Basketball, James Hall - Basketball, Jeremy Weiermann - Basketball.

Motion by Kline second by Lekin to approve the School Budget Review Committee application request for modified supplemental amount of $155,969 for the At-Risk and Drop Out prevention program.  All Ayes.

Superintendent Smith discussed the use of the stop signs on Highway 63 for student crossings.  Additional options will researched.

Motion by Kline second by Houghton to go into closed session at 6:33 pm as provided in Section 21.5(1)(j) of the Open Meetings Law to discuss the sale of a particular piece of real estate.  All Ayes.

Motion by Lekin, second by Werner to come out of closed session at 6:50 p.m.  All Ayes.

Motion by Houghton, second by Werner to adjourn the meeting at 6:52 p.m.

Penny Tyynismaa, Board President                               Mary Boege, Board Secretary