2021.03.15 Board Minutes

                                                 REGULAR SESSION 
                                   OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE

The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on March 15, 2021 in Regular Session at 5:00 p.m. with members of the community attending electronically through Google Hangouts.

On call of the roll the following were present:  Ronald Houghton, Alan Kline, Mandy Lekin, Penny Tyynismaa and Clint Werner.  Quorum Present. 
Also present were: Jared Smith, Mary Boege, Randy Denham, Marilyn Rippy, Allison Graham and several members of the community.

Motion by Kline second by Houghton to approve the amended agenda, adding to the Personnel Requests.  All Ayes.

Motion by Lekin, second by Kline to approve the consent agenda approving the minutes of the February 15, 2021 and March 1, 2021 meetings, financials and bills for payment as presented.   All Ayes.

Public Comments - None

Motion by Lekin, second by Werner to approve the personnel requests as presented.  All Ayes.

Contracts - Regina Gill - MS ELL, Jaimie Gargas - HS English
Transfers - Kelli Smith from 5th grade to 2nd grade
Resignations - Jennifer Perez - MS/HS Family & Community Liaison, Chris  Drummer - Sign Language Interpreter, Lindsey Hassman - Kindergarten, Baron Davis - HS Asst Wrestling, Justin Suchanek - MS Asst Wrestling
Officials - David Lee - Track, Jordan Bleil - Wrestling, Bob Yilek - Wrestling 

Motion by Kline second by Werner to approve setting a Public Hearing for the 2021-2022 School Calendar on April 5, 2021 at 5:10 p.m.  All Ayes. 

Motion by Houghton, second by Lekin to publish the FY22 Budget Estimate and to set a Public Hearing regarding the FY22 Budget on April 5, 2021 at 5:00 p.m.  

Motion by Kline, second by Werner to go into closed session at 5:25 p.m. as provided in Section 21.5(1) (i) of the Open Meeting Law to evaluate the processional competency of an individual whose performance is being considered to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation, as that individual has requested a closed session.  All Ayes.

Motion by Kline, second by Houghton to return to Open Session at 6:56 p.m.  All Ayes.

Motion by Werner, second by Kline to extend Superintendent Jared Smith's contract through the 2023-2024 school year.  All Ayes.

Motion by Lekin, second by Kline to adjourn the meeting at 6:59 p.m.  All Ayes

Penny Tyynismaa, Board President                       Mary Boege, Board Secretary