2021.01.04 Board Minutes

                                                                 SPECIAL SESSION

                                                OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE

                                  COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT OF SOUTH TAMA COUNTY


The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on January 4, 2021 for a Special  Meeting at the Administration Building, Tama, Iowa at 5:00 p.m. with some members of the board and community attending electronically through Google Hangouts.

On call of the roll the following were present: Ron Houghton, Alan Kline, Mandy Lekin, Penny Tyynismaa  and Clint Werner.  Quorum Present.  

Also present were: Jared Smith, Mary Boege and several members of the community.

Motion by Kline second by Houghton to approve the agenda.  All Ayes.

Public Comments - None

Motion by Houghton, second by Kline to accept the Early Retirement requests of  Shelly Riley - Title I Teacher, Jeff DeBondt - MS Physical Ed Teacher, Elaine Gibson - Elementary ELL Teacher, Linda Aziz - MS Special Ed Teacher, Christine Quigley - HS FCS Teacher, Nancy Dostal - HS English/Language Arts Teacher and Mary Boege - Business Manager.  All Ayes.

Motion by Lekin, second by Houghton to return to a 100% in person learning model for second semester with a 2:15 p.m. dismissal for all students with the exception of the preschool which will stay Hybrid.. Motion carried with 4 aye votes from Houghton, Kline, Lekin and Tyynismaa and one nay vote from Werner.   

Activity Directors Jahr and Bolen discussed the current status of gym rentals.  They would like to be able to have youth sports be able to practice  but have not have competitions at this time.  It will be brought back to the Board at the next meeting for review.

Motion by Houghton, second by Kline to adjourn the meeting at 6:39 p.m.


Penny Tyynismaa, Board President                               Mary Boege, Board Secretary