2021.03.01 Board Minutes





The Board of Directors of the Community School District of South Tama County met on March 1, 2021 for a Special Session at the STC Elementary, Tama, Iowa at 5:00 p.m.

On call of the roll the following were present:  Ron Houghton, Alan Kline, Mandy Lekin, Penny Tyynismaa and Clint Werner.  Quorum Present.

Also present were: Jared Smith, Mary Boege, Allison Graham, Marilyn Rippy, Vanessa Rivera, Sheri McFate and Jacob Molitor and several community members attending electronically through Google Hangouts.

Motion by Lekin second by Kline to approve the agenda.  All Ayes.

Public Comments - None

Vanessa Rivera presented Partners in Education Plaques to the Toledo Public Library and the Meskwaki Nation Police Department.

Motion by Lekin, second by Werner to approve the following personnel requests.  All Ayes.

Contracts - Randy Denham - School Business Official/Director of Finance. Michelle Bradley - HS Math

Early Retirement - Michael Dostal - MS Custodian, Nancy Haines - Elem Cook

Resignations - Dot Kendall - Elem Para educator, Serena Lowe - Asst MS Softball, Samantha Cantonwine - Asst HS Softball, Jeff DeBondt - 7th Grade Football and 7th Boys Track

Officials - Andrew May - Wrestling, Brandon Dufoe - Wrestling

Motion by Kline, second by Houghton to approve the 2.31% total package increase for the Classified Staff and Administrators for the 2021-2022 school year.  All Ayes

Motion by Houghton, second by Kline to approve the start dates for the staff of August 17, 2021  and students of August 23, 2021 for the 2021-2022 school year.  All Ayes.

Discussion was held on the date for the first board meeting in April.  It will be on Monday, April 5, 2021.

The Superintendent's evaluation will be held after the board meeting on March 15, 2021.

The 2021-2022 school calendar was reviewed and will be brought back for approval at a later meeting.

Motion by Houghton, second by Lekin to adjourn the meeting at 5:36 p.m.


Penny Tyynismaa, Board President                               Mary Boege, Board Secretary